Matthew Nicholson | Editor-in-Chief | matthew@the-social-edge.com


Bella Bedoya | Social Media Coordinator | bella@the-social-edge.com


Liz Freedman | Video Producer | liz.f@the-social-edge.com

Jerrel Bernard | Associate Video Producer & Editor | jerrel.b@the-social-edge.com


Blair Shepard | Revenue | blair@the-social-edge.com

Sam Prince | Audience Development | sam.p@the-social-edge.com


Tom Garruto | Operations | tom@the-social-edge.com


Lorenzo Thione | CEO, The Social Edge | lorenzo@the-social-edge.com

Jay Kuo | CCO, The Social Edge | jay@the-social-edge.com

People Explain Which Things Aren't A Religion But Everyone Treats Them Like One
Fredrick Tendong on Unsplash

Various organizations can have any number of followers who are totally devoted to their respective missions, it seems like a cult.

Keep reading... Show less

There are many things in modern society that are generally accepted but would have been considered taboo as little as ten to twenty years ago.

But even in our supposedly progressive modern age, we still have a long way to go.

Far too many people are still hesitant or afraid to be open about elements of their life, fearing too many people wouldn't consider it "normal."

This idea piqued the curiosity of Redditor Sham-da-man, leading him to reach out to the Reddit community on what needs changing in modern society by asking:

"What needs to be normalized?"
Keep reading... Show less
People Explain What They Were Really Hyped For But It Absolutely Flopped
Photo by Thomas Park on Unsplash

Expectations can be a dangerous thing.

It's very easy to be excited for an upcoming movie or TV show, an item of clothing you've been dying to own, or a vacation we've been saving years for.

But sometimes, when reality sets in, whatever it was we were so eagerly looking forward to doesn't always turn out to be everything we'd hoped it would be.

Redditor Tarps-celom was curious what fellow Redditors had sky-high expectations for, only to find themselves let down, and asked:

"What were you really hyped for but completely flopped?"
Keep reading... Show less
People Explain Why They Feel The Need To Defend Elon Musk
Britta Pedersen-Pool/Getty Images

Elon Musk is one of the richest men on the planet. He's also among the most controversial.

In recent weeks, Musk made headlines for his $44 billion buyout of Twitter, which sparked concerns among liberals and civil rights activists who have warned about the consequences of having one person have so much control over public discourse online.

Musk has defended his venture as a bid to protect free speech and while there exist many editorials analyzing his motives in this venture (to say nothing of his others), there are also many people out there who consider him a visionary and have balked at criticisms of him.

We heard from a few of those people after Redditor return2ozma asked the online community,

"Those who defend Elon Musk, why do you feel the need to defend him?"
Keep reading... Show less