JOIN
OUR EMAIL LIST!

Matthew Nicholson | Editor-in-Chief | matthew@the-social-edge.com


Bella Bedoya | Social Media Coordinator | bella@the-social-edge.com


Liz Freedman | Video Producer | liz.f@the-social-edge.com

Jerrel Bernard | Associate Video Producer & Editor | jerrel.b@the-social-edge.com


Blair Shepard | Revenue | blair@the-social-edge.com

Sam Prince | Audience Development | sam.p@the-social-edge.com


Tom Garruto | Operations | tom@the-social-edge.com


Lorenzo Thione | CEO, The Social Edge | lorenzo@the-social-edge.com

Jay Kuo | CCO, The Social Edge | jay@the-social-edge.com

Image by Michal Jarmoluk from Pixabay

How many people do you know battling addictions?

According to the American Society of Addiction Medicine (ASAM), addiction is "a treatable, chronic medical disease involving complex interactions among brain circuits, genetics, the environment, and an individual's life experiences. People with addiction use substances or engage in behaviors that become compulsive and often continue despite harmful consequences."

Hearing from those who have battled addictions––and come out the other side––can be remarkably eye-opening, as we were reminded once Redditor YoshBotArmy asked the online community,

"People who have beaten an addiction... what's your secret?"
Keep reading... Show less
Image by cskkkk from Pixabay

I'm just spitballing here, but it seems to me that pretty much that weapons of war are among humanity's worst creations. Sure: We live in an anarchic world. States can never be certain of another state's intentions. Conflicts are bound to break out. But in a perfect world––and a man can dream––none of this would be necessary.

It seems I'm not alone in this, either. People had opinions of their own after Redditor Questwarrior asked the online community,

"What was the worst human invention ever made?"
Keep reading... Show less

Homelessness is an unfortunate and all-too-common occurrence in the world, particularly in the United States. Homelessness has grown to a huge degree, and while most countries have the resources to help their homeless, many choose not to.

Keep reading... Show less
Image by Sang Hyun Cho from Pixabay

It's amazing what the legalities are from place to place. I live in New England, and in Connecticut, passengers are allowed to drink alcohol in the car, as long as they aren't driving. Weed isn't legal there, but open containers in the car? Totally fine. At least we have something to look forward to as we cross the border.

Keep reading... Show less